They…

November 8, 2008

393051_10101288952336072_127674208_n

They’re going to catch you

just like a dog chasing a stick

they’re going to fetch you

Your time is ending

before it’s all over

I suggest to you my friend

you start your mending

Patching things up

filling the cup

we’re flying solo

But we’re flying still

and cleaning the spill

we’re using Gojo

For washing our hands

then it’s off to foreign lands

into a war zone

And then we shoot our guns

while they are on the run

we get VA loans…

To Build our dream homes…

Though we’re living alone

we are crying on the phone

we’re having issues

That no one understands

not Mr. Bush or Uncle Sam

they hand us tissues

We get arrested

for drinking too much

and throwing a punch

We’re getting tested

they say we must comply

because of them so many died

I’m just a number

but they really care, they say

what If I blew myself away?

I’m drinking too much.

so many innocents that died

so many tears their families cried

They call it ROE

now I am down on both my knees

I started praying

God please help me through

if Buddha’s there he can help too

I drink another

They weren’t just our friends

they were our brothers till the end

I pull the covers

I can’t drift off to sleep

and I refuse to count sheep

I’ll be nightmaring

I no longer dream

when I wake up I often scream

there’s people dying

I don’t give a shit

just one more bong I’ll need to hit

I miss the old days

That was not too long ago

and I have never felt this low

I’m finished writing

I wipe the sweat off of my brow

off to eternal sleep right now

I’m all done fighting.

Categories: america, american dream, collateral damage, death, Poetry, suicide, Uncategorized, war, working class | Tags: , , ,

Post navigation

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 339 other followers

